If Introverts Ruled the World

I am an introvert. Most of the time, anyway. Over time I have become more and more comfortable being alone. I’ve started feeling awkward in groups and parties which demand my interactive contributions.

But I am not a bad communicator.

I am very interested in (and fairly good at, if I say so myself) one-on-one conversations. The person at the other end of this conversation needs to be one of two things.

  1. A  good receiver. He/She should be capable of listening to (and, ideally, intelligently responding) to me talking about whatever interests me. Now that would be science, math, computers, football, sports in general.
  2. A good speaker. He/She should be able to talk about something (absolutely anything) with passion and logic. Any topic, if presented with vigor, is interesting to me. I prefer this kind of person because I tend to get something for later out of it.

I am also fairly good at explaining concepts or selling products which I am convinced about. Again, there is probably very little interaction needed in this case. If any interaction IS needed, I am switched on when someone questions something I believe in.

But introversion, according to me, is the awkwardness I feel when I am faced with a group of people ranging form sizes 3 to infinity with whom I am expected to interact.

But why is this a bad trait? I personally feel introversion is one of the best possible traits a human being could have. Calvin Coolidge, one of the frightfully rare introverted politicians in world history (and the only one I have been able to dig up any quotes from), said :

“Don’t you know that four fifths of all our troubles in this life would disappear if we would just sit down and keep still?”

If introverts ruled the world, they would go out of their way to avoid conflict because of all the trouble that would entail, as is obvious from the above quote. Think of a world where politicians would quietly go about their legislative duties, not seeking any undue press coverage. A world where a conflicts will be resolved through calm discussion. I want to live in a world where there are no fights because of irrational confrontation.

So is introversion portrayed as something negative because the people with the authority to portray things are all extroverts?
Why is introversion considered negative?

2 thoughts on “If Introverts Ruled the World

  1. Don’t you think that expecting others to be good listeners and speakers is setting yourself up for great disappointments? Being a good listener is probably the hardest skill for most of the world. What everybody needs is a good listening to.

    • Oh no. I don’t expect anything from others. Just that I’ll be happier that way. More comfortable with people who are either one of the 2. People who can’t be either listener or speaker make things very awkward.

      And some people like listening to others without speaking much.

Leave a Reply

